• 61 results
#1 Edited by deadmoscow (262 posts) -

So after some consideration this past weekend, I decided I would try switching over to a vegetarian diet. There were a lot of reasons for this. For one, I spent several months living in India after I graduated from college, and felt completely fantastic after three months on an all-veg diet. Second, meat is expensive! I'm a grad student now and I'm broke as a joke pretty much all the time, so I wouldn't mind saving money on the grocery bill month to month by buying lentils instead of pork, or whatever. Third, factory farming is kind of gross and unsustainable, but that topic is a huge can of worms I don't really feel like opening here. Really, the best ever reason to go vegetarian is this: the RZA is a noted vegetarian, and he's the sharpest motherfucker in the whole Clan. Think about it.

So hey, vegetarian duders! Help me out here - what's the most difficult part about transitioning to a vegetarian diet? I imagine I might take occasional jaunts into veganism here and there, but I don't know that I could ever give up yogurt and cheese, and I find a lot of dairy substitutes to be kind of weird and gross. Any good staple recipes to help maintain a healthy protein intake? I'm not terribly interested in imitation meats like faux turkey or faux ground beef, I'd rather just eat some dang beans and lentils or whatever.

Also, let's cut this off at the pass before a bunch of jerks come in and try to ruin this thread - I don't care if you think going vegetarian isn't "manly" or I should just quit crying about the planet and eat a damn steak or something. I also don't think this is the place for deep discussion about the ethics and environmental effects of factory farming. Let's keep both extremes out of here and just chill out and discuss meat-free lifestyles.

#2 Posted by Lysergica33 (523 posts) -