Veteran MOBA players, what's your opinion of Paragon?

Drekly

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By Drekly

I don't play them, but I'm always fascinated by the game mechanics and I love watching people play them on Twitch.

I am genuinely curious what you guys think of Paragon. Is it doing anything well? How is the third person? Could it be your new favorite?

streetninja

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 9

I just started playing it a few days ago and I'm liking it enough. I like it more than my brief time with Smite, it feels good but it is a slower paced game. I can't tell if the game meant to be as slow as the matches I've played are leading me to believe, because people playing the game could be new to MOBAs and die a lot, teams don't push when they have an advantage, and more than half of the people I play with don't know what a hero is capable of.

I wish everyone moved a little bit faster, because potions don't heal or provide as much mana as I would like and it leads me going back to the fountain more than I'd like (usually from taking a lot of damage from being ganked or trying to help someone that's out of position).

I really don't know if I can recommend the game with so few characters and it lacking good tutorials. I can tell that there are a lot of new people to this style of game playing it, so maybe it isn't the worst way to get introduced to the genre.

TheMasterDS

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 31

#3  Edited By TheMasterDS

It looks like the kind of MOBA I don't like, an old fashioned one which is not Heroes of the Storm. Judging from the Quick Look I saw games take 40 minutes rather than 20 minutes, there's little teamfighting to be found in the first half, the progression system is odd and there's not a fair playing field even if you did understand the mechanics as well as more experienced players.