#1 Edited by GoranP (1115 posts) -

I tried and Fraps and Camtasia. Both work as advertised but no matter what settings I put, the files come out huge! I have a 1TB hdd that isn't empty and I was thinking about recording longer gameplay videos (40+ minutes). A long match of Battlefield 3 would basically take up most of my space. What program do you recommend or use? Thanks!

#2 Posted by roninenix (119 posts) -

Bandicam to record, then find a good program to compress.

#3 Posted by JJOR64 (18908 posts) -

I guess I could use XSplit for it. Haven't really tired video recording with it, but streaming works great with it.

#4 Posted by CornBREDX (4806 posts) -

You need to compress it. As far as I know this will be true no matter what software you use.

#5 Posted by GoranP (1115 posts) -

Is there anything that can compress as it records? Sorry if that's a dumb question, I'm new to all of this.

#6 Posted by Video_Game_King (36012 posts) -

Hypercam 2 is great for recording, but I'd follow everybody else's advice about compression or whatever. The only thing I know about compression is compressing and making the video quality a little worse as you do it. I imagine everybody else means something different.

#8 Edited by Devildoll (877 posts) -

guess im a dinosaur, cause im still using fraps.

Dxtory is an alternative i've heard, i believe it can compress as it records.

#9 Posted by Corvak (901 posts) -

I use OBS for streaming. It's got a lot of Xsplit's functions, but it's free. It can output to file as well. Though I know very little about compression, and if I were recording with it, i'd probably be here asking :)

#10 Edited by Bollard (5254 posts) -