Which "Tales" game has the best characters?

poisonjam7

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 27

#1  Edited By poisonjam7

*Edit* Changed the question from "best story" to "best characters."

I haven't played a Tales game since Symphonia when it came out, which I loved. Recently I felt like I'd like to play another from the series. As I've gotten older, a strong story and interesting characters have now become the most important factors in choosing an RPG.

While I wait for The Witcher 3, I'd like to try and complete whichever Tales game you guys recommend to me based on the above criteria. Thank you for your suggestions.

figurehead00

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I'm no Tales expert, as I only recently finished my first game in the series, Tales of the Abyss 3D. I can whole-heartedly recommend it. The world is sprawling with tons to do and explore. The story is very jargon heavy (what the hell is a phonon? gah they keep saying it!), and the main character starts out as insufferable, but he has a great arc and the story gets better and better. By the end I was completely invested in the characters and story and couldn't wait to see how it would end. Plus that active battle system keeps random encounters fun.

I'm really looking forward to branching out to other games in the series. Picked up Symphonia and Xillia but haven't started them yet. Anyway, hope that helps.

Devil240Z

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

Im in the middle of graces. and its alright.

I really want to try one of the tales games that are on vita but I don't pay full price for games and $40 is damn steep for me.

Kazzenn

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Abyss and Vesperia.

BabyChooChoo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#5  Edited By BabyChooChoo

Having recently played Xillia, I can confirm the answer to this question is, in fact, not Xillia.