#1 Posted by Cathryn (545 posts) -

So, I had a long time away from games. Never really got in to the Zelda series when I was a kid, and this game seems to have been the most universally liked since I started playing again so this seems like a good one to start with from a quality standpoint. I'm interested and would like to check it out, but since it's a direct sequel, I'm a little concerned about whether or not it'll all make sense without having played Link to the Past. Do I need to have played the first to enjoy/make sense of the sequel?

#2 Posted by CrazyBagMan (836 posts) -

I never beat LTTP, only played it a couple hours in a while back. But it seems like this game would be excellent for a newcomer to the series. As far as I'm aware despite there technically being a Zelda timeline, canon or not it's basically nonsense.

#3 Posted by Hailinel (23927 posts) -

If you haven't played A Link to the Past, there will certainly be a lot of references that will pass you by, but the game itself isn't structured in a way that would prevent you from enjoying it simply because you didn't play the SNES game.

#4 Edited by TruthTellah (8552 posts) -

@cathryn: Well, from what I've heard, the "direct sequel" part of it is less of a factor than it may seem. While it may appeal to series veterans and have a lot of references and familiar elements for those who played the original game that it draws inspiration from, it apparently also has a nice learning curve for introducing new people to the mix. The game was originally going to be its own thing, but they decided connecting it to A Link to the Past would make some of the changes more acceptable for series fans. From all I keep hearing, you should be able to enjoy it whether you have played the series much or not. Maybe you'll get more little references and such if you played the other games, but this is its own enclosed adventure.

So, I think you'll probably be fine. Zelda games are always good about easing you into it.