Oops, wrong brake button!

#1 Posted by Nate (702 posts) -

I've had this game for about a year now, but just started playing it seriously a little over a week ago. So far I'm really enjoying it. I've probably only put about 6 hours into it, I've got three cars and I've been fine-tuning them . . . BUT ANYWAY I just downloaded the forza 3 demo and was looking at the controls as the game was loading.  "Oh" I thought, "they changed the brake to LT instead of the A button. Ok". I started playing and noticed - wow, this car brakes a lot better than any of my cars in Forza 2. This is way easier!  Then it hit me - I tried the A button (hand brake) and noticed it braked a lot more like my cars in Forza 2 did. Yup, I'm a dumbass! I've been playing with the e-brake only in Forza 2. Now I'm really excited get back to it tomorrow and play with my newly discovered brake button! I think I'll do much better - might even be able to up the difficulty to earn a little more cash in career mode. 
I don't know what game I've been playing that gave me the impression that the A button is always the brakes. GTA 4 maybe? Anyone else have a similar problem?

#2 Posted by MattyFTM (14364 posts) -

GTA 4 used the Left Trigger as the break too. Pretty much all games do that. I've never heard of a game that has the Right Trigger as accelerate, and the A button as break.

Moderator Online
#3 Posted by JJWeatherman (14558 posts) -
@MattyFTM said:
" GTA 4 used the Left Trigger as the break too. Pretty much all games do that. I've never heard of a game that has the Right Trigger as accelerate, and the A button as break. "
me either.
#4 Posted by JoelTGM (5596 posts) -

lol nice going, that must have been hard.  You must be a drift master by now though.

#5 Posted by PureRok (4235 posts) -

That is amazing. Well, at least the game will be easier for you now. I have no idea how you managed using the emergency brake all this time.

#6 Posted by wefwefasdf (6729 posts) -

I love me some handbrake.