Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Gears of War 3

Game » consists of 8 releases. Released Sep 20, 2011

The third and final installment in the Marcus Fenix trilogy. Taking place on the apocalyptic planet Sera, 18 months after the ending of Gears of War 2, players will once again take control of C.O.G. soldier Marcus Fenix as he takes on the Locust threat and their Lambent rivals.

Can't go back to Gears after Uncharted...

• 58 results
    Avatar image for deactivated-6041dd7056393
    deactivated-6041dd7056393

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

I just started playing Gears 3, after having recently finished Uncharted 3. And I have to say, in many way it feels like going back in time. I think UC 2 and 3 have made the Gears franchise more or less obsolete in my eyes. Everything from presentation to combat, story and spectacle, and just general polish, the UC series seems to have raised its act whereas Gears feels very similar to what it was back in 06.

The main issue though is the feel of combat. The speed, precision and efficiency in which Drake goes about wasting dudes these days, fluidly moving between ranged and melee combat mixed with just the right amount of stealth and traversal, is so far ahead of where the TPS genre was at the start of this generation. But the guys in Delta squad still clunk about the place, putting round after round into dudes until they just blow up into a soup of blood and pus; whilst both allies and enemies run around aimlessly and often directly into each other so making the combat areas feel overly chaotic, and not in a good way. Melee combat can look cool once you actually pull it off, but its far too cumbersome and slow for my taste, and not at all useful. And the animations are just not up to what I expect from a big budget linear third-person action game.