Typical Strategies Used In Geometry Wars: Retro Evolved?

#1 Posted by BurningStarIV (25 posts) -

I am not all that great at the game myself.. In fact i think my highest score is about 300,000. I guess i was just wondering what kinds of strategies you guys feel lead you to success when playing the game. I typically try to keep moving around the basic parameter around the map, which i feel is helpful, but the again what do i know since i fail to get past 100,000 points most times i play...

#2 Posted by HandsomeDead (11863 posts) -

I normally find myself going in a circle to get everything behind while still moving away. The only time this gets awkward is when those little tiny blue things appear and start to fill up the screen.

#3 Posted by RedSox8933 (2428 posts) -

i'm not very good at the game either, but i just wait in the middle and don't move until it starts getting really intense. i don't have many strategies to the game, which probably is why i dont have a very high score.

#4 Posted by SpaceInsomniac (3325 posts) -

Apparently, you should listen to Radiohead.

#5 Posted by Rowr (5236 posts) -

you totally stole my logo, after i stole it from C&C

#6 Posted by Met2609 (555 posts) -

I suck at it, so I shouldn't be giving tips, but I guess you circle-strafe...a lot.

#7 Posted by Rowr (5236 posts) -

does strafing exist in a 2d game?

#8 Posted by HandsomeDead (11863 posts) -
SpaceInsomniac said:
"Apparently, you should listen to Radiohead.

"
That's a perfect example of the technique I proposed. Seems to work pretty well for me.
#9 Posted by Peter_J (151 posts) -

Yeah, I just always shoot what's in front of me, move in circles etc.

#10 Posted by Moon (251 posts) -

I stand 10 inches away from the screen concentrating.

#11 Posted by IceColdGamer (604 posts) -

Circle strafe the shit out of it.

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for: