HAWKEN - looks incredible

#1 Edited by CptBedlam (4449 posts) -

So this is apparently a Mech-FPS developed by a team of 9 people. And it looks incredible, they must have some extremely talented level designers or something:

It runs on the Unreal Engine but no word on platforms or estimated release date yet.

(I hope this doesn't qualify as spam)
#2 Posted by BraveToaster (12590 posts) -

Looks good. I like Mechs.

#3 Posted by JJWeatherman (14558 posts) -

9 people? That seems impressive. Kind of unbelievable, but I'm no game developer.

#4 Posted by BigLemon (1022 posts) -

Do you play as Stephen Hawken? Because that's a pun I could get behind.

#5 Posted by Sweep (8845 posts) -

Videos containing new or interesting gameplay or trailers are exceptions to the youtube-spam rule, provided you write a little explanation so people know what they are looking at. This thread is fine.

In fact, if it didn't already exist then I was about to make it myself. 

Made by 9 people in 9 months? Fucking mindblowing. Here are some of the in-game screenies: 

I recommend watching in HD. 

I notice the mechs look a little janky when moving so I guess they still have a lot of optimization to be getting on with, but the aesthetic of the game is fucking beeeeeaaaaauuuuutiful. 

Here's a screeny of the first person perspective: 

So fucking excited for this project now, and I didn't even know it existed until about 5 minutes ago.
#6 Posted by beej (1674 posts) -

Oh shit, that looks fantastic.

#7 Posted by Slaker117 (4838 posts) -

Looks like a video game.

I don't know if I'm just super jaded, but I'm not seeing what makes this incredible. Don't get me wrong, it looks fine, I don't have a problem with it, and it's super impressive that it only took nine people to make all those assets, but I'm not getting blown away by as a game. Yeah it looks nice, that's cool, but I need some other hook otherwise it just seems like a mech shooter running on Unreal.