Just What the Hell Is Blizzard DOTA, Anyway?

• 99 results
Posted by Brad (2903 posts) -

A new, fresher version of Blizzard DOTA was playable on the BlizzCon show floor this weekend, and it’s come a long way from where it was last year. It’s a much more focused, polished product now and quite a bit more fun. DOTA-like games (if you like, MOBAs) are all the rage right now, and Blizzard is attempting to stay in that market with their own take on a genre that grew from the mapmaking communities of their prior games in the first place.

For some context, I play a good amount of Heroes of Newerth, League of Legends, and am eagerly awaiting access to the Dota 2 beta. I’m no pro, but I know my away around the genre and tend to prefer the complexity of DOTA/HoN to the relative simplicity of LoL. Blizzard DOTA is definitely on the LoL side of the spectrum, with a lot of the noise removed in favor of a more straightforward, accessible experience. The base game is the same. It’s five-versus-five on a three-lane map, with neutral creeps pushing toward towers placed deeper in each lane. The objective is simply to destroy the enemy team’s base while protecting your own. You’ll pick a hero and level them up, gain skills, and buy items.

This is where we get into the specific differences that, to the outside observer, might seem unimportant, but to the experienced player can completely change the metagame. To start out, Blizzard DOTA is really lenient on the early-game laning phase. That is, you’ll get experience and gold just for being near creeps that die. It doesn’t matter who kills them. There’s no last-hitting and no denying your own creeps to keep the enemy team from gaining gold. That makes it simple for new players, but to me it’s also a huge chunk of depth out the window. It’s the one thing I don’t really agree with here, as it lowers a lot of the potential skill ceiling that would normally separate out players of different ability.