Follow

Jeff Gerstmann

Person » credited in 1 games

Jeff Gerstmann is co-founder of Giant Bomb and was Editor in Chief of GameSpot until his highly-publicized termination in 2007. He was at one time the highest-ranked NFL Blitz '99 player in the world, and has been a member of the bands "Midnight Brown," "Suburban All-Stars," and "Headboard."

google listing Jeffs page as highly suspicious

#1 Posted by sparks50 (363 posts) - 2 years, 6 months ago

What kind of dark shit goes on over there? Will I be stabbed upon entry?
 
 http://jeffgerstmann.net/

#2 Posted by Godwind (2597 posts) - 2 years, 6 months ago

Yes, stabbing frenzy.

#3 Posted by mfpantst (2572 posts) - 2 years, 6 months ago

damn.  just got stabbed.  thanks.

#4 Posted by natetodamax (18928 posts) - 2 years, 6 months ago

It's been like that for a while now.

#5 Posted by LordAndrew (13817 posts) - 2 years, 6 months ago
http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?client=Firefox&hl=en-US&site=http://jeffgerstmann.net/

What happened when Google visited this site?

Of the 65 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 20 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2010-10-25, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2010-10-25.

Malicious software includes 4 exploit(s), 2 trojan(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 2 new process(es) on the target machine.

Malicious software is hosted on 7 domain(s), including pqshow.org/, 85.234.191.0/, vukykaf.co.cc/.

4 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including charlottebackpackingexpeditions.com/, northmecklenburgnews.info/, northmeckpropertyvalues.com/.

This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS31815 (MEDIATEMPLE).

#6 Posted by CitizenKane (10459 posts) - 2 years, 6 months ago

Jeff has always been a highly suspicious character.

#7 Posted by FunExplosions (5407 posts) - 2 years, 6 months ago

Jeff recently said that he found out his blog had a shit-ton of malware, and that he had spent a long time getting rid of it all. It appears it's all back. I wouldn't go there if I were you.

#8 Posted by MattyFTM (13817 posts) - 2 years, 6 months ago

He's aware of it. This is a post from the blog itself:

So Google’s reporting that this site isn’t safe for browsing. I’ve been fucking around here and there, trying to get the site clean again, but it looks like someone went through and hosed a bunch of WordPress installations that are hosted on MediaTemple. Even the other domains I host on this account had bad PHP files thrown on them. I need to do some grepping and some SQLing and some sobbing, then I’ll resubmit it to Google to see if they find it to be clear.

Moderator
#9 Edited by Grissefar (2337 posts) - 2 years, 6 months ago

Jeff put it there. On purpose. So he can steal all your passwords. That's how he funds the Giant Bomb website. That's how they can afford to produce dozens of hours of awesome video content every week! At Giant Bomb. Dot com.

Please Log In

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.

Use your keyboard!

  • ESC