Lockpicking

#1 Posted by Sinea (6 posts) -

Hiya,

I'm new to the game and digging it so far. One thing that stumps me is lock picking. I understand in bottom left it lists your inventory of lock picks, then to the right it lists what looks like a lock pick, that has a red handle. I can't find any of these. Where can you pick those up?

#2 Edited by FritzDude (2263 posts) -

It's a prismere. A - what the game calls it - "one-shot lockpick." It will automatically grant success to your lockpicking. It's rare, but you'll find it in various shops & traders and chests. I've played the game for 40 hours and found about 15 of them.

#3 Posted by Sinea (6 posts) -

@FritzDude: Do you have to have the prismere to lock pick?

#4 Edited by Yummylee (21652 posts) -

@Sinea said:

@FritzDude: Do you have to have the prismere to lock pick?

No, you can use regular lockpicks. Lockpicking is pretty easy when you know what to do. Just need to strafe the lockpick left to right and slide the lock to the right; if it shakes, that signifies it's going to break, then you either push the lockpick a little further in the direction the lockpick is heading towards or take it the other way. Often times you can open locks just by keeping the lockpick in dead centre...

But be sure to always buy the entire stock when they're being sold too, since there's a lot of room for error if you're lockpicking skill is low.

#5 Posted by fini_fly (767 posts) -

I don't know if it's just me, but does the lock slow down just before it's going to break. I'm either noticing this, or possibly have a seizure every time I pick a lock.

#6 Posted by benspyda (2034 posts) -

@fini_fly said:

I don't know if it's just me, but does the lock slow down just before it's going to break. I'm either noticing this, or possibly have a seizure every time I pick a lock.

It does slow down. Overall I found the lockpicking so easy in this there is no point even upgrading lockpicking.

#7 Posted by Sinea (6 posts) -