any tips for a new person to the game?

#1 Posted by jazin (46 posts) -

so I started playing league of legends and was wondering what tips that are out there for new players and maybe some tips on some of the champions that are good for newbie's to use when they are first starting up playing

#2 Posted by JaredA (830 posts) -

Try your hardest to not die. Play against bots until you feel like you have a good understanding of your hero/build. As for good heroes, I really enjoyed playing as Miss Fortune when I started.

#3 Posted by llamaegg (231 posts) -

Get off of bots as soon as possible. All it does is create bad habits, so as long as you feel comfortable with the mechanics of the game move onto vs others.

Also, get friends ASAP, game has a terrible community!

#4 Posted by WillyFourEyes (82 posts) -

Classic Mode:

1. In the early minutes of a game, stay behind your minions and let them soak up the majority of damage for you.
  2. Never attack an opposing turret unless you've got minions to back you up, otherwise the turret will lock onto you and keep attacking until you run away. (That faint pinging sound you hear when you're near one? That's a warning that you've just been targeted.)
  3. In addition, never attack an opposing player if you're fighting near one of their turrets. If you do that, the turret will ignore any friendly minions nearby and attack you instead.
  4. Only your regular attack can damage a turret.

Dominion Mode:

1. You gain experience and gold slowly as the game goes on, so don't bother farming gold from enemy minions. Focus on attacking and defending the control points instead.
  2. Don't try to capture an opposing control point if there are enemies nearby. Take care of them first, then capture away.

General:

1. Always have someone to back you up in a fight, whether it be friendly minions or another player using a Tank or frontline Fighter.