Who chooses League of Legends as their GOTY 2011?

#1 Posted by el_tajij (709 posts) -

Even if the best game ever was released tomorrow - there isn't enough months left in the year to change the fact that League of Legends is easily the game that summed up 2011 for me. I started playing back in March. Over the months, despite all the hate, abuse, name-calling, dodgy servers and tears of frustration: I've totally fallen in love with the game that Riot put together, to the extent that I believe i've spent somewhere in the region of £200 on riot points (in just six months!) and do not regret a single penny.

I had my university finals in June and as the hyper-competetive environment of that game pushed me to get better at League of Legends - it gave me the final push I needed to get better as a student and I ended up aceing my exams. Don't get me wrong, my time with this game has been far from constant sunshine and happiness (including getting together with four other people for a 2-day LoL marathon that was planned weeks in advance and being unable to play due to the servers being down) It's still a game that makes me proud to be a gamer and constantly reminds me 'Oh yeah, now I remember why I'm so passionate about playing video games!'

So I was wondering, to new LoL'ers such as myself and seasoned veterens alike. Was League of Legends your game of the year, also?

#2 Posted by Tuggah (1072 posts) -

It was in my top 10 last year and will be in my top 10 again this year, even if I haven;t been able to play it in months.

#3 Posted by tunaburn (1890 posts) -

not game of the year. but its a really good game. its the best free to play game ever made.

#4 Posted by Rhaknar (5939 posts) -

its a perfectly fine choice (except it didnt come out this year). Our GOTY should be our favorite game, period, not what we think is the best game or something. Hell my GOTY will probably be Old Republic

#5 Posted by Jokers_Wild (208 posts) -

Not I.