Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Magic Carpet

Game » consists of 5 releases. Released May 06, 1994

Fly the unfriendly skies, battling giant creatures and wizards in a race to collect mana and restore balance to the world.

The Grab Bag: Magic Carpet

Relkin

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 0

I've been playing some old games lately, and I wanted to share my findings. I've named this (and will name any future posts) The Grab Bag because I pick an old game I have very little to no experience with at random. The point of this exercise is to see how some of these games hold up specifically to someone who doesn't have that muscle memory or the nostalgia of someone who played the game at the time of its release. I would be really interested to hear anybody else's opinion on the game in question.

The first game I played is Magic Carpet. In this game the player competes with opposing wizards to capture the finite amount of mana in each level. There are a wide variety of neutral monsters: wyverns, griffins, giant bees, mana-stealing genies, mana-eating crabs, to name several. The player has a couple dozen spells found during the course of the game to deal with these threats, like Fireball, Lightning, Meteor, and even some terrain altering spells like Earthquake or Crater. I played the first six or seven levels and had a great time doing so, but by the time I had reached the fifteenth level I had a load of problems with the game.