2012 Magic Players Championship

#1 Edited by Fattony12000 (7416 posts) -

It's time for more Magic!

16 of the best players in the game right now are pitted against each other in multiple formats of Mortal Magic Kombat! This is the inaugural Player Championship (taking place at PAX Prime no less!), which is replacing the old Pro Tour-sized event as well as the Pro Player of the Year title. For the first time ever, we get to see Cube Draft played at the highest levels of a tournament.

Wednesday

Begins with 16 players

3 rounds of Cube Draft followed by 3 rounds of Modern Constructed

Thursday

3 rounds of Magic 2013 Booster Draft followed by 3 rounds of Modern Constructed

Jon Finkel vs Martin Juza

David Ochoa vs Shouta Yasooka

The top 4 players advance to the final day

Friday

Modern Constructed (best 3 of 5)

Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa (Brazil)

Reid Duke (USA)

Samuele Estratti (Italy)

Jon Finkel (USA)

Alexander Hayne (Canada)

Jun'ya Iyanaga (Japan)

Martin Juza (Czech Republic)

Brian Kibler (USA)

Tzu-Ching Kuo (Taiwan)

Shuhei Nakamura (Japan)

David Ochoa (USA)

Luis Scott-Vargas (USA)

Owen Turtenwald (USA)

Josh Utter-Leyton (USA)

Yuuya Watanabe (Japan)

Shouta Yasooka (Japan)

http://www.twitch.tv/magicprotour / http://www.youtube.com/user/wizardsmtg/videos / https://twitter.com/wizards_magic

CityWednesdayThursdayFriday
Seattle11:45 a.m.11:45 a.m.1:30 p.m.
Los Angeles11:45 a.m.11:45 a.m.1:30 p.m.
Chicago1:45 p.m.1:45 p.m.3:30 p.m.
New York2:45 p.m.2:45 p.m.4:30 p.m.
Rio de Janeiro3:45 p.m.3:45 p.m.5:30 p.m.
London7:45 p.m.7:45 p.m.9:30 p.m.
Paris8:45 p.m.8:45 p.m.10:30 p.m.
Berlin8:45 p.m.8:45 p.m.10:30 p.m.
Moscow10:45 p.m.10:45 p.m.12:30 a.m. Friday
Tokyo3:45 a.m. Thursday3:45 a.m. Thursday5:30 a.m. Saturday
Sydney4:45 a.m. Thursday4:45 a.m. Thursday6:30 a.m. Saturday

Any bombers up in this thing? I, for one, really enjoyed seeing these guys Cube Draft, and I will always enjoy seeing more of the Modern format (which is usually what I play online) being played.

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.