Total newbie question-how does one block/guard?

#1 Posted by jclane (337 posts) -

Yeah,talk about a shameful inquiry,but the only fighting game/series I put any real "effort" into learning was Tekken.So this system is drawing a blank in my mind,and there's no simple button according to the game manual (not that those are usually any good point of reference to anyway).I'm using a 360 gamepad by the way.Please don't rain hellfire on this poor lost soul.

#2 Edited by Icemael (6317 posts) -

Hold back. 

EDIT: I mean as in the direction back, not the button back. I totally forgot the Xbox 360's select button is called "back".

#3 Posted by jclane (337 posts) -
@Icemael said:
" Hold back. "
Of course it'd be the same as Tekken! How could I have been so stupid.Urgh
#4 Posted by monocactus (21 posts) -

Does a high block, block high attacks and the crouched block low and high attacks, like in SFIV?

#5 Posted by Hockeymask27 (3683 posts) -
@monocactus said:
" Does a high block, block high attacks and the crouched block low and high attacks, like in SFIV? "
yes
#6 Posted by monocactus (21 posts) -

Offtopic question:
Why is my name blue?

#7 Posted by Ezekeilpurger (321 posts) -

oh hey another mvc related question. when someone says "he has super armor" wtf does that mean?

#8 Posted by TechHits (1377 posts) -
@monocactus:  because you set your alignment to PS3 in your profile. Green is 360 and red is Nintendo.
#9 Posted by monocactus (21 posts) -
@TechHits: Thanks.
#10 Posted by Sayishere (1840 posts) -

also press light and medium while holding back in a direction to advance guard, which pushes them back

#11 Posted by TheFreeMan (2712 posts) -
@Ezekeilpurger said:
" oh hey another mvc related question. when someone says "he has super armor" wtf does that mean? "
means that, while they have super armor up (usually tied to specific attacks, I think. Example: Hulk's heavy attack has super armor) they can take a hit without being stunned.