Should I still play the trilogy?

Posted by squiDc00kiE (350 posts) 1 year, 5 months ago

Poll: Should I still play the trilogy? (94 votes)

Yes 93%
No 7%

I know basically how Mass Effect 3 ends, but I've been dying for a sci-fi game for some time now. Is it still worth going back to play the trilogy? I own the original on PC but only played it for about an hour. I'm interested in going back, but don't want to waste my time. What should I do?

#1 Posted by Bass (692 posts) -

I think it's absolutely worth playing even if you know the ending. Just keep an open mind in the first game, because the gameplay is a little rough around the edges. The world in Mass Effect is really interesting as a whole, so immersing yourself in the foriegn world can be really fun. I recently started playing through the first game again because I just felt like playing the series again. Knowing the ending doesn't really take much away from the experience, I think (except maybe a little in the third game).

Just keep in mind that the gameplay is much improved in the second, and then a little more in the third.

#3 Edited by ImmortalSaiyan (4676 posts) -

Absolutely. All the games are great and taking as a whole the series works very well. Ending be damned.

#4 Posted by SirOptimusPrime (1955 posts) -

Of course. The first game is great but really flawed in annoying ways, the second game works on some of those faults but still has some of its own, and the third game is pretty good but with a lot of holes and new/old flaws. Still loved the ~100 hours I put into one character between the games.

#5 Posted by Svenzon (718 posts) -

Absolutely. The ending is such a tiny part of the whole anyway. There are many great moments waiting to be experienced in all three games.

#6 Edited by HistoryInRust (6275 posts) -