Finding Mass Effect boring

#1 Posted by Moncole (636 posts) -

I started playing Mass Effect and I find it boring, not saying it's a bad game. I am on the first mission and I have to force my self to play. Will the game get better? I usually don't like action RPG games, didn't like oblivion or fallout but I did like Borderlands and other game that put the action element first in an RPG. I like turn based RPGs more

#2 Posted by tunaburn (1891 posts) -

so you hate the genre, and you hate all the games that are similar. but you want to know if you will like this one?

all i can say is both mass effects were game of the year to me. but this seems like a stupid question in general.

#3 Posted by TotalEklypse (1000 posts) -

I quit like 8 hours in. I was bored out of my skull and tired of running around mazes of areas and "exploring" lame fucking planets. this coming from a guy who loves almost anything space related. Especially if I can fly the universe, exploring and kicking ass. Yet I really couldn't give a shit less about the game.

I'd rather watch a old shit episode of Star Trek.. which says a lot considering I hate Star Trek. (Firefly all the way woooo)

Geek shit aside, I hear the 2nd game was more action and less planet buggy repetition bullshit. Might be worth a rental. I really did want to like the first but it was just poorly designed.

#4 Posted by GS_Dan (1405 posts) -

It takes a while to get into. I felt the same at first, stick with it and engross yourself in the world.

#5 Posted by Gamer_152 (14091 posts) -

If you don't like action RPGs and you didn't like Oblivion or Fallout I really doubt you'll enjoy Mass Effect. A lot of people have complained about the shooting in the game not being good enough but most people enjoy it for the world and story it presents, if you find that you can't get into that then I don't think Mass Effect is for you.

#6 Posted by Dany (7887 posts) -