Getting started in MGO.

#1 Posted by essd0g (59 posts) -

I just started playing MGO and I was wondering what is the best way to get my feet wet. A lot of the freebattle games don't look noob-friendly or they are on maps that I don't have, and the automatching takes too damn long to find enough players. I've been screwing around in the training area but that isn't much fun.

Any advice for getting into some level-appropriate matches?

#2 Posted by Red (5991 posts) -

Here's my advice: don't play MGO. 
There are so many better online offerings that won't leave you frustrated, confused, and will allow you to keep your respect for MGS4.

#3 Posted by mordukai (7093 posts) -
@Red said:
" Here's my advice: don't play MGO. 
There are so many better online offerings that won't leave you frustrated, confused, and will allow you to keep your respect for MGS4. "
Second that. 
#4 Posted by copycatzen (816 posts) -

There are some lobbies that are for noobs, and you will find a lot of matches where the host kicks out the players that clearly are experts already and are killing everybody without dying. Look for those our create your own and be the host.
#5 Posted by LiquidPrince (15623 posts) -
@Red said:
There are so many better online offerings that won't leave you frustrated, confused, and will allow you to keep your respect for MGS4. "
MGO is fun in its own way.
#6 Posted by Jerr (531 posts) -

MGO? HA, HAHA, HAHAHAHAHA

#7 Posted by CounterShock (419 posts) -
@essd0g: I just started playing as well and I found the easiest way is to just jump into some Johnny games and start playing tons of games. Also some servers are just practice, you could go to those.
#8 Edited by TwoOneFive (9461 posts) -

a little late to the party.  

the only people still playing are totally dicks who don't care that you know nothing.