Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Nintendo 3DS

Platform »

The Nintendo 3DS is a portable game console produced by Nintendo. The handheld features stereoscopic 3D technology that doesn't require glasses. It was released in Japan on February 26, 2011 and in North America on March 27, 2011.

Is the 3ds a good purchase?

Avatar image for thomasverledens
    thomasverledens

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hey guys, i've been playing on my ds lite for 7 years now and i decided to buy a 3d handheld.

The OG 3ds seems perfect for me because i really like the looks of it and i dont really need the bigger screens of the XL, but there a 2 problem i've heard;

- I'm not interested in the 3D so i'll mostly turn it off, but some people say that the switch sometime automatically turns the 3D on, is that true?

-I've heard that when you play old ds games on the 3ds, it looks rly bad in comparison to the XL, is that also true?

pls answer :)

thanks

Snail

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 9

#2  Edited By Snail

A: Yes.

- No.

- I got an original one and, in hindsight, I would have rather gone for the longer battery life. The image quality on the XL is perfectly fine - it looks somewhat "magnified", but only if you pay close attention to it. If you have a local retailer with an XL on display you can check for yourself. All told, when it comes to a device you want to have streetpassing on your backpack all day, battery life really matters.

DiamondDog

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@thomasverledens: The 3D is set by a physical slider, it never comes on automatically. The 3DS is a great system, and I'd definitely recommend it, but for the love of god, get an XL. The original is the most uncomfortable system I've ever had the misfortune of holding, and the battery life is atrocious. Not to mention the fact that the top screen gets scratched every time you close it.

TheBlue

Forum Posts

Wiki Points