Building my first gaming PC with a $1200 budget

#1 Posted by UhOhCheerio (10 posts) -

As i said above, I have a $1200 budget for my first custom built gaming PC. I’ve checked various websites and forums for good components and have come up with this build:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/kxio

It is a bit over budget as you can tell. Is this a good build? Would this be future proof? I am fairly new to PC gaming but I am very curious and open to learning new things. I’m a little stuck at this point and would appreciate more suggestions on different builds and components which would lower down the price tag but not lower down its performance by a big margin.

Thank you in advance for any support!

#2 Posted by UhOhCheerio (10 posts) -

I forgot to mention that I already have a good 1080p monitor, keyboard, and mouse. However, I would also love suggestions on any tried and true keyboards (backlit) and mice you all enjoy. I currently have my eyes on Logitech or Razer products. I have a laptop at the moment so I won’t be using any old components and I also intend to overclock my PC.

#3 Posted by Ravenlight (8040 posts) -

Yo, put spinners and shit on that ride.

#4 Posted by iBePeRFeCT (396 posts) -

If your PC is going to be used for gaming primarily then I would suggest getting an i5-3570k. The i7 isn't really going to increase the performance in any of your games and the i5 should be more than enough for quite some time.

Here's a link for the processor.

#5 Posted by ajamafalous (11959 posts) -

Looks good to me. I have a HAF X and a Hyper 212 Plus. Can't say enough good things about either of them. The Hyper 212 Plus, especially, is probably the best and most important $25 you'll spend on your computer. 

Do you have another hard drive? 128 GB really isn't all that big once you start putting things on it.

#6 Posted by Colourful_Hippie (4339 posts) -
@iBePeRFeCT