Building my first PC soonish. Can I get some Bomber wisdom?

#1 Edited by StarFoxA (5158 posts) -

Here's what I'm planning on buying:

• Intel Core i5-4670K CPU
  • ASRock Z87 Extreme4 Motherboard
  • MSI Radeon HD 7950 GPU
  • 8GB Corsair Vengeance
  • Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
  • Corsair 400R Mid Tower
  • Asus VS239H-P Monitor
  • Microsoft Sidewinder x4 keyboard
  • Razer DeathAdder Mouse

Etcetera, more info in the PCPartPicker link. I do plan on overclocking, and down the road I'd like to get a second monitor and some better headphones (I'm looking at the Astro A40s right now, if there are any audiophiles on here let me know how those are for gaming/music).

Any recommendations/tips/input? This is my first build, so toss any tips that may be useful for a first time build!

#2 Edited by chiablo (939 posts) -

Looks good so far.

#3 Posted by afabs515 (1108 posts) -

Looks pretty similar to my first build, but I didn't have the gaming mouse/keyboard. Looking great so far. The only advice I have for you is to be careful when dealing with processor stuff. When I was changing my CPU fan from the stock fan to a quieter one, I put too much thermal gel on and started freaking out while wiping the excess away. Also, those fans can be fucking hard to get situated. So just be careful you don't accidentally break the CPU. Everything else is really easy to set up, so long as you follow the instructions. My computer booted successfully on its first attempt, and I ain't no engineer. Good luck! Hope it goes well, and welcome to the PC master race!

#4 Posted by LiquidPrince (15964 posts) -

Looks pretty good, but I would upgrade to at least a 7970.

#5 Posted by fleabeard (185 posts) -

Antistatic Wrist Strap

#6 Edited by Slag (4450 posts) -

@starfoxa: Looks like a nice system very similar to my build I made in August.