Figuring out what gaming PC to get.

#1 Edited by NeutralDensity (47 posts) -

Hi everyone. So after years of playing my consoles, I feel that I should finally buy a gaming PC. There just seems to be many great benefits with it over consoles. However, I have been intimidated a few times in the process. I am completely new at this and there is so much to choose from. I do not want to make any mistakes and it is a bit overwhelming. I also want to make sure the parts I get are current. I found this recommendation that looks fine and up-to-date: http://www.techbuyersguru.com/1500build.php

Does anyone think this should be fine or if there is anything better out there. I can afford a little more than this, but I want to be reasonable. I would still need to get the monitor, speakers, sound card, etc. Again, absolutely new at this. Any advice or input would be fantastic. Thanks for reading.

#2 Edited by JJWeatherman (14483 posts) -

Yep, that seems nice and current. Spending much more than that wouldn't yield significant results, either. I'd personally go with an Nvidia 770 over that AMD GPU, but that's just preference. Also, skip buying a sound card unless you're a crazy audiophile.

Also, I'd recommend these speakers.

Watch some PC building videos, read instructions when you feel you need to, and you'll be fine.

#3 Edited by NeutralDensity (47 posts) -

Awesome. Thanks for the advice. :)

Edit: What makes the Nvidia 770 preferable to you?

#4 Posted by JJWeatherman (14483 posts) -

AMD Radeon graphics cards have just always seemed chintzier to me. And driver support for them is often thought to be of lower quality than Nvidia cards, but they're actually fine most of the time. I can't vouch for it, but a 7970 should serve you just fine.

#5 Edited by MonetaryDread (1953 posts) -

@neutraldensity said: