Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

General consensus on PSUs?

essi2

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 6

#1  Edited By essi2

Hail Fellow Duders of the PC forum.

Having been mostly out of the loop for the last few years (mostly due to being broke/"Self-employed") and more recently because I work as a Support Technician at Lefdal(Read DSGi), Performance hardware is a rarity in retail PC builds.

I was wondering what the general feeling is on the power consumption of modern gaming HW.

Take this build as an example:

MOBO: MSI Z77A-G45, Socket-1155

CPU: Intel® Core i7-3770 Processor

RAM: Kingston DDR3 HyperX 1600MHz 16GB

GPU: Gainward GeForce GTX 660Ti 2GB PhysX

HDD0: Intel® SSD 330 Series 120GB 2.5", 25nm

HDD1: Western Digital® Desktop Green 1TB

ODD: Sony Optiarc DVD±RW Writer, AD-5280S

PSU: Silver Power SP-SS500 500W PSU

Would that build work well(or at all) with just a 500W PSU?

PS. I have an 800W PSU to spare, so a unanimous NO! isn't a disaster ;)

Devildoll

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

#2  Edited By Devildoll

@essi2: yeah thats not going to be a problem.

as you can see on the specs, the processor is rated at 77 watts. the grapics card at 150.

and the other parts dont use more than a couple dozen a pop.

http://www.sweclockers.com/recension/15750-nvidia-geforce-gtx-660-ti/15#pagehead

theres a test with a bit beefier system than the one you are planning on buying, as well as it being overclocked, and as you see, its just hitting up against 300 watts.

be aware that there's a big difference between a 500 watt psu and a 500 watt psu however.

make sure you are buying a decent one.

essi2

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers