Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

I'm Doing It. I'm Building a PC.

killacam

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By killacam

I didn't think there were enough of these threads already, so here's another one. I've never built a computer before, but am itching to get into the realm of PC gaming. I also do a lot of music production and I'm going into comp-sci to study game design in... one week. So I'm trying not to skimp where it counts. BUT seeing as I'm new at this, any thoughts from the knowledgeable GB community would be appreciated before I drop $1800. Maybe the CPU and RAM are overkill? Who knows if it's all even compatible? Hopefully you do. Thanks!

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W

GPU: EVGA SuperClocked 02G-P4-3662-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16

Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V LK LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0

Case: Corsair Carbide Series 500R

PSU: Antec EarthWatts Series EA-750 Green 750W ATX12V v2.3

RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance LP 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

SSD: Kingston HyperX 3K SH103S3/120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC

HDD: Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001 3TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s

alistercat

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 27

#2  Edited By alistercat

I am looking to get that exact card to replace my GTX460. I'm curious about whether it's worth it.

Kudos on going to build your first PC. 16GB of RAM is way overkill. I do video production and photoshop, and 8GB is already too much. Most of the time.

killacam

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By killacam

@AlisterCat said: