Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Looking towards Skyrim. Building a PC, one step at a time.

sfighter21

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 3

#1  Edited By sfighter21

So, In anticipation for Skyrim, I am starting to think about building a PC.  Now, I'm not that tech savvy, but I have been trying to do some research.  From past observation, I have noticed that the GB community is pretty well versed in the building of PCs.  I was thinking it would be cheaper to build a rig rather than buy one (e.g. Alienware, etc.).  Is this true?  And if so, where should I start my investment into this project?  Understand that I am starting from scratch.  I do not currently own a PC that I wish to upgrade.  I want to build one, mainly for gaming, obviously.  My laptop is good for everything else, lol.  I know there aren't any specs for Skyrim yet, this is mainly for the purpose of building a gaming PC; Skyrim just helped nudge me along, haha.  Any insight, help, advice of any kind would be GREATLY appreciated!!  Thanks Duders!

project343

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 16

#2  Edited By project343

While I can't really offer much in-depth help, I've come to learn that RAM is a key factor in open world experiences (be in massively multiplayer, or simply another Bethesda game). Shooting for 8+ gigs of RAM should be a priority if you plan to run Skyrim.

AhmadMetallic

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 11

#3  Edited By AhmadMetallic
    @sfighter21:  Firstly, Skyrim is a console game. I think you'd have a better experience with the PS3 version rather than the console port on the PC