Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Need help sorting out my SSD and my Hard drive (first timer)

snipe

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Ok so i'm not sure how to put this into words but i'll try, I'm attempting to figure out how to get my SSD to do all of the loading and stuff while my hard drive has everything on it.

Sorry if this is a dumb question i'm getting my parts in the next couple days and would like to know what to do with my SSD and my hard drive.

As I said it's my first time building and i'm a bit worried so any help with this would be appreciated.

Jimbo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

#2  Edited By Jimbo

Make sure you install Windows on the SSD. That's about it really. Once the PC is up and running, install apps you use a lot and stuff that will most benefit from the SSD on the SSD. Use the HDD for saving photos, installing games if you like to keep a lot installed at once, music etc.

Sergio

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 13

#3  Edited By Sergio

You'll need to go into the BIOS to set the SSD as your boot drive. Depending on what settings you have in your BIOS and how you've connected the drives to the motherboard, you might need to make additional changes in the BIOS. Then do as Jimbo said.

Don't freak out if you see "No hard disk detected!" when you boot up. I have an SDD for Windows, an SDD for Steam, and an HDD for everything else, and I always get that boot up message.

Nictel

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 2

@snipe said: