Overclocking, is it worth it?

#1 Edited by tehsorrow (64 posts) -

Hey guys.

I'll give you the short version but if you need anymore details I'll happily provide. Basically I have a pretty nice computer, but I'd like to push more out of it with stuff like Witcher 3 coming out so I thought I'd consider overclocking. I've never tried it before but I know my model of CPU is well suited, although it's recommended when overclocking you make sure your cooling set up is ideal. Mine is not so great. With only stock fans etc I get up to the high 80s with extended play of BF3 which is probably the most intensive game I own and this is with out of the box settings.

So my question is, if it with overclocking on this set up if I'd have to buy a new cooling set up to make it work or would the cost outweigh the gain?

Below are my specs.

#2 Edited by Vamino (202 posts) -

My personal experience is that it's rarely worth it, simply because when it comes to games they're rarely limited by your CPU. Certain games will push your CPU really hard, and you'd see improvements in those games (assuming no other bottleneck), but they're usually not going to be using everything your CPU has got.

That said, you can get good cooling solutions that will give you some play for not a lot of money. I got a big Noctua air cooler that dropped my CPU temps by about 20C. I got it just because I wanted my computer cooler and quieter though. Or you could go with one of those sealed liquid cooling jobs. Either one would give you space to overclock if you wanted to without getting stupid.

If I were you though, I'd get some sort of monitoring software and take a good look at just how hard your CPU gets pushed before really going for it though.

Edit: As a reference, this is the CPU cooler I got.

#3 Posted by rm082e (177 posts) -