Printer face off: HP 8600Plus VS Epson 4530 Which would you have?

#1 Posted by Devil240Z (3374 posts) -

I'm trying to decide between the two. I can get either for like $150. they are great on ink, over 2000 pages per cartridge. and they have alot of features.

I probably wont buy a new printer for awhile but I want to know what everyone thinks... or am I the only person who thinks about printers.......

8600 Plus on amazon

4530 on amazon

Also on a side note I also kind of want an Epson Artisan 837 but its shit on ink compared to the others but its amazing with photos.

I guess I'm just a tech nerd. I just want this shit so I can know I have the best stuff. I don't know what I would really use them for, thus I probably wont actually buy them... Its just a fantasy.

#2 Posted by crusader8463 (14422 posts) -

I have always been of the opinion that people that pay more than $40-$50 for a printer are crazy people. Unless you are the type to print off a lot of high quality photos I don't see the point in spending tons of money on the machines. If all you are going to use it for is to print off text documents then just get a cheap one and it will do the job fine. It all comes down to what you want to use it for.

#3 Posted by HarlequinRiot (1098 posts) -

@crusader8463: I'm with you on this. No reason to spend the money on something you don't need. Especially some as un-fun as a printer. Though I would say wireless is a really good feature to have and worth extra money, assuming it's not standard by now which I feel like it must be.

#4 Posted by Chop (1999 posts) -

@crusader8463 said: