Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Random black screen crashes during gameplay

Avatar image for deactivated-5a55abbb2b8a9
    deactivated-5a55abbb2b8a9

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hello everybody!!

So I have a bizarre PC issue when it comes to gaming. The game will become unresponsive after a random amount of time, and will show a black screen. The keyboard and mouse are responsive. The music will continue to play into the background. When this error happens, I tab out and close down the program.

This is my first time dealing with a high-end PC, as I've always had pre-assembled ones in the past, which were low tier. The parts I bought are:

• Intel Core i5 i5-4690K.
    • Asus AMD Radeon R9 290 DirectCU II OC Graphics Card (4GB, GDDR5, PCI Express 3.0)
    • HyperX FURY Series 16 GB
    • Gigabyte Z97X-SLI Intel LGA1150 Z97 ATX Motherboard
    • Corsair Builder Series CXM 750W PSU

Steps I have took:

• Fresh Windows install on HDD
    • Updated Windows fully
    • Updated the basics of my processor and motherboard so everything is in working order
    • Updated GPU (update: 14.12 AMD Catalyst Omega Software)
    • Tested three games: FFXIV, Resident Evil 5 and Witcher 3.
    • Checked for any loose cables
    • Checked for good air flow

Things I should mention:

• Primary HDD has fresh Windows install, but connected to another HDD (backup music, games, videos ect)
    • Backup HDD has windows installed. If this could affect the primary, then please let me know.
    • All components are brand new
    • No overclock has been performed or any programs of that nature installed.
    • My PC has the basics and is virtually empty.
    • One side case has been taken off.