Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Recommended joystick-to-keyboard mapping software?

sweetz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By sweetz

So I've been on a kick playing through the Wing Commander series (up to WC3 now), and the one thing that sucks about these games is that they don't have remappable controls. I have a Thrustmaster T.16000m flight stick and while Thrustmaster does have their own mapping software (called TARGET) it's ridiculously over-complex for the kind of simple button-to-keyboard key mapping I need.

To that end, I've been using JoyToKey, which is is nice and easy to use - but it has one problem: it doesn't stop the joystick buttons acting as normal joystick buttons in addition to the mapped keyboard key. This is a problem because the Wing Commander games have certain actions that are hardcoded to button 2 (i.e. if you hold it down and move the stick right or left it acts as a roll, press it at the same time as the trigger and it fires a missile). I don't want these actions to happen on button 2 because I've mapped them to other dedicated buttons, I want button 2 to only work as the keyboard key I assign it to and not still work as "button 2" as far as the game sees it.

I used to have a Logitech joystick and Logitech's profiler software does work that way, but unfortunately it can only be used with Logitech sticks.