Television/monitor for both PC and 360.

#1 Posted by B0HICAH (43 posts) -

Hello duders.

I'm a student who lives in a relatively small apartment. To save space and funds, I have decided to hook both my computer and Xbox up to the same monitor, as I never need both at the same time. Does anyone else here do this, and what do I need to look for when purchasing such a device? I'm looking for the best picture possible for both systems, and it needs to be no smaller than 26".

Do you have any specific recommendations? Thank you for your time, lovely people.

#2 Posted by Kidavenger (3627 posts) -

What is your budget?

#3 Edited by SexyToad (2722 posts) -

@B0HICAH: I'm not understanding what you're needed done. I have my Xbox 360 hooked up to my 40'' tv., just by two hdmi port. If your PC doesn't have a hdmi port then vga will do. So I would buy a small LCD TV of you're choosing and BAM!

Edit: I'm sorry I don't think I answered your question. What type of monitor is it?

#4 Posted by Dagbiker (6978 posts) -

I just use a HDMI switch like this to hook my PC, 360 and my PS3 to my computer monitor, I have all 3 hooked to my computer monitor, with 4 HDMI cables, not the cheapest solution, but its fine for me.

#5 Posted by believer258 (12182 posts) -

I have a 26" LCD TV and my PC, 360, PS2, Xbox, and Wii are all connected to it and I don't have any problems with it.

#6 Posted by B0HICAH (43 posts) -

@Dagbiker said:

I just use a HDMI switch like this to hook my PC, 360 and my PS3 to my computer monitor, I have all 3 hooked to my computer monitor, with 4 HDMI cables, not the cheapest solution, but its fine for me.

So you're running all 3 systems off of a single monitor with the HDMI switcher? That sounds pretty awesome.

So essentially all I would need is a monitor (say, for example, this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824116483&name=LCD-Monitors), the switcher, and the cables to hook it all up and it would work fine for both a 360 and a PC?