Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Turtle Beach Micro 2 and Tritton 720+ Headset

mordecaix7

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 12

#1  Edited By mordecaix7

I bought a Tritton 720+ headset and am looking to hook it up to my PC to get surround sound. After testing the headset (I'm new to headsets and surround sound) I see that for the headset to output the dolby digital signal, it has to receive one. Otherwise, it uses ProLogic II to make an "expanded stereo" effect. So I need to get my PC to output a dolby digital 5.1 signal.

I found that Turtle Beach makes something called the Micro II that allows a usb port to convert to an optical out and output Dolby Digital 5.1 signal.

My question is, has anyone used the Micro II with success? If not, is there another recommended method that I could follow to have my PC output a Dolby Digital 5.1 signal?

Thanks!

Avatar image for bourbon_warrior
    Bourbon_Warrior

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#2  Edited By Bourbon_Warrior

@mordecaix7: I had the same problem when I got my PX5, I ended up getting a used Creative sound card with a Digital out and Dolby Digital codec. The way your talking about sounds alot cheaper and less installing drivers. Not sure if that thing actually gives you true Dolby Digital or just the same deal as Pro Logic II

AlexW00d

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

#3  Edited By AlexW00d

Doesn't your Motherboard have a S/PDIF port or whatever? I have 2 on my PC and I have no use for either.

mordecaix7

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By mordecaix7

@AlexW00d said: