Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Upgrading my graphics card

xMrSunshine

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

#1  Edited By xMrSunshine

It's that time of my computer's life where I've encountered the first game (FC4) that forces me to put most graphics options to low to get an acceptable framerate so it's time to kiss my GTX460 good bye. The thing is, I'm a university student with a (sort of) limited budget and I'd like to know whether I should go with the GTX760 (~220€) or with the GTX970 (~390€)?

From what I've read the difference is a pretty significant one but I'm wondering if it's worth almost double the money and if something else in my rig (info below) will bottleneck it. Also from what I've read it seems the 970 shines above 1080p resolutions which is above what I need probably for at least some years but if I'm lucky the more expensive option would last me at least 3-5 years making higher resolutions a possibility as well. So far I'm leaning towards the 970. I'll also take any recommendations on manufacturers. I remember hearing somewhere that Asus and MSI are both alright and happen to be the cheapest around here.

Here's what I'm running + 650W PSU which I assume is enough to support either of the new cards.

No Caption Provided

onarum

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

if you can spare the extra money definitely go for the 970 it will give you way more mileage, that said the 760 should be a nifty upgrade as well, but if you can go 970 for sure, you'll extend that PC's lifetime for at the very least another 2 or 3 years.