Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Video Card Trouble - Looking for input

Eurkos

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

You probably see this a lot, but this is my first time posting anything here. So forgive me if this is in the wrong spot, and be gentle.

Anyway, I just recently bought and built a new computer. As someone who has up until now been almost exclusively on the console side of the wall, most of this stuff is new to me. Here are the specs for the components I bought:

CPU: AMD FX-8120 Zambezi 3.1GHz

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-970A-D3

RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3

GPU: GIGABYTE Radeon HD 7850 2GB

PSU: Diablotek UL Series 550W

So, now that that's out of the way, here's my problem. I was playing Tomb Raider with the settings maxed and it was looking fantastic. Really smooth frame rate, textures were all nice, etc. Then, about an hour in, the whole thing fell apart. I lost the video signal to the monitor and I heard a clipping noise in my headphones as if the last fraction of a second of the sound was looping over and over. I had to do a hard reboot to get everything going again. But then the weird part was, everything just fired right back up. I was able to jump right back in the game, and played for another hour or so, and the same thing happened. There was only cool air being blown out of all the box's exhaust ports (including the one on the video card itself) but I know that probably doesn't mean a whole lot.