Want to upgrade my graphics card, no idea what to get

#1 Posted by D34dM4n (150 posts) -

I'm new to PC gaming. I just got a new computer as an early Christmas gift and it's not bad. But it could be better. So I've been looking into upgrading the graphics card but I have no idea what to get, mainly because I have no idea what will work with what I currently have. Below are my computer's specs. Can anyone help?

Motherboard: Gigabyte M68MT-S2

CPU: AMD FX-4100 3.6GHz Quad core

RAM: 8GB DDR3

Graphics Card: nVIDIA GeForce GT 520 1GB

Storage: 1TB 7200rpm

#2 Posted by RVonE (4607 posts) -

How much are you looking to spend?

#3 Posted by FritzDude (2254 posts) -

We probably should also know what Power Supply Unit you have in it, as it is ill advised to recommend something not suited for it.

#4 Posted by D34dM4n (150 posts) -

I'm looking at spending between 100-200. If I can't find anything good, or at least better than what I have, for that price range I can always learn to save money.

I'm not sure of the exact model but my psu is 500W

#5 Posted by RVonE (4607 posts) -

@D34dM4n said:

I'm looking at spending between 100-200. If I can't find anything good, or at least better than what I have, for that price range I can always learn to save money.

I'm not sure of the exact model but my psu is 500W

An nvidia GTX 660 is an easy recommendation that should be able to work within those limits (assuming your PSU has a capable 12V rail). It's a really decent mid-range card and is a huge step up from your GT520.

#6 Posted by D34dM4n (150 posts) -

I have no idea if my psu is capable of that. I'm not even sure what my psu is. All I know is it has 110 input voltage and max output power of 500W. I haven't been able to find what psu the computer came with.

Also the GTX 660 is PCIe 3.0 and my motherboard has PCIe 2.0. They won't work together, right? I'm guessing they won't but I'm not sure.

#7 Edited by RVonE (4607 posts) -

@D34dM4n said: