Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Will DX11 run?

Eli

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 4

#1  Edited By Eli

Hey guys, I got a new PC for Christmas and  I'm not too good with them, so I'm just curious about something. I've heard DX11 will run on DX10 cards, so will it properly on my rig? (Radeon HD 4870 series, Athlon II triple core proccessor, 4 gigs of RAM) My OS is also Windows 7 Ultra. And if it will run, would it be at least decent? Thanks.

ErEl

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By ErEl

A DX11 game will run on a DX10 GPU, unlike a dx10 game on a dx9 card which wouldn't. This is because dx11 is a superset of dx10. However, some of the new features of DX11 are exclusive to the new dx11 GPUs and so you would need one of those to support them.

torus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#3  Edited By torus

^ What he said. Basically, you won't be able to use hardware tessellation without a  dx11 card.

SeriouslyNow

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

#4  Edited By SeriouslyNow
    @torus said:
    " ^ What he said. Basically, you won't be able to use hardware tessellation without a  dx11 card. "
    I beg to differ.  Tessellation is a supported technology in DX10.1
    torus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#5  Edited By torus
    @SeriouslyNow said:
    " @torus said:
    " ^ What he said. Basically, you won't be able to use hardware tessellation without a  dx11 card. "
    I beg to differ.  Tessellation is a supported technology in DX10.1 "