To be or not to be.... a guy that follow a guide.

#1 Edited by Darklight (207 posts) -

Hey Persona 4 duder, I started playing the game yesterday and so far I'm loving it. I did play the ps2 one (about 40 hours of it) and watched some of the endurance run but stopped middle way because I did not want to ruin the story if I decided to start playing it again (even tho now I know the killer because there's a lot of picture of him running on the world wide web which made me guess who it was... oh well :/).

Anyway, to the point of this post. I find myself struggling or hesitating with some choice I make (like do I do X or Y Activity, do I fuse X and Y Persona, what should be my priority right now, etc) and I was wondering how many of you guys are doing / did a blind playthrough? There's an online help now with the top 5 activity for the day but I'm wondering if it's enough.

Even tho I played a good part of Persona 4 I realize that I'm still pretty much clueless of what I should do to progress with less trouble or how to prepare myself for the next boss without using a guide. To give an example, the Yukiko boss fight: I had in my persona Orobas because I thought that Dekaja could help againts elemental protection (like Ice resistance) but found out pretty quickly that it does not work againts it. Also did not have a way to cure silence which was a problem at some point. I had 2 persona with Bufu because I did remember that it was her weakness. I won the fight but I feel that it could have been easier.

So in this example, how do you know how to prepare for the fight without looking for guide? Or maybe I have the wrong approach and should go with a trial and error style?

So in short: Do you guys think a guide is a must to play this game (and if so, any suggestion on some good guide?) or is the best way to enjoy it is to play in trial/error?

#2 Posted by Karkarov (2622 posts) -