New to Competitive Play. Advice?

#1 Edited by afabs515 (832 posts) -

Alright guys, so I did it - I took the plunge! I bought Pokemon X this weekend and am enjoying it so far. I have 2 badges, mostly because I don't have as much time to play as I'd like, and am starting to think about my long-term team. It's going great, but I am worried about what happens when I get to the endgame. I understand that Pokemon can get pretty hardcore if you decide to be competitive, and want to try it out myself. The problem is: I've never done that before.

So for any veterans out there, I would really appreciate any advice you could offer me. This includes anything concerning team composition, useful moves, strategic considerations, EV stuff, the works. Really appreciate all the advice!

PS: If anyone is interested in friending me,

Name: Anthony

FC: 2234-8449-9855

#2 Edited by perfectlizardwizard (112 posts) -

Have you played any of the games before? I recommend you get a really good handle on the base game before you dive into the competitive aspect. You can easily plow through the game not worrying about natures, ev's, iv's, movesets, etc. After you get to the endgame I recommend you think about a team you want after you've had some time experimenting and look into breeding mechanics if you're actually serious (any serious play your team is going to need to be specially bred and trained or you'll get steamrolled online by anyone other than casuals.)

Smogon is your best bet for a resource/compendium of playing competitively (though their dex hasn't been updated for X and Y yet and won't be for a while as they undergo the testing phase period.)