Why are there two versions?

#1 Edited by Venatio (4483 posts) -

Hello, so I had a question about these Pokémon games

The only Pokémon game I've ever played was halfway through Pokémon white until my little brother broke the cartridge. I had fun so since getting a 3DS a few months back I've been interested in this new one. What exactly are the differences here between X and Y?

I've been playing games for 15 years but I've never been a Nintendo guy so I've mostly avoided Pokémon

#2 Edited by crusader8463 (14411 posts) -

I have not played them in a few colours so this may have changed, but historically they have been the exact same game but each one has different pokemon in them. So if you want to catch them all you need to buy two gameboys and two different games or know someone who has the other to trade with. It's been a way since the start for them to try and milk extra money out of people but I believe they always said it was to try and make people play together.

Which is why I always base my choice off of whichever box has the coolest pokemon on it. Since I never had anyone to trade with it didn't matter. It drove me nuts as a kid who put hundreds if not thousands of hours into those games to know that I could never have all of the pokemon because I never knew someone with the other colour.

#3 Posted by Grixxel (762 posts) -

I'm gonna take a wild guess and say you can only get the pokemons on the cover only on their respective cartridge. Red one is probably on X and whatever the fuck the other thing is on Y.

#4 Posted by coakroach (2486 posts) -

Gotta make them kids cough up that extra money.

Or encourage people who own the game to actively look for people with other versions to get the other versions exclusive Pokemon.

Depends how cynical you want to be.

#5 Edited by I_Stay_Puft (2944 posts) -

Probably the reason there are two Pokemon games is because they want your money.

#6 Posted by Mijati (875 posts) -