Giant Bomb Review

621 Comments

Catherine Review

2
  • X360
  • PS3

You won't find another game on the market that's quite like Catherine, but it fumbles too frequently to work.

The alignment meter pops up to let you know that the story is considering your decisions.

There aren't a lot of games out there like Catherine, and even fewer of them exist in English-speaking territories. That's probably one of the best things going for Atlus' boys-to-men tale about a love triangle with a supernatural twist. It seems that unfaithful men are dying in their sleep, and you'll quickly find yourself caught among their ranks as you figure out what to do with the two girls in your life by day and climbing a seemingly endless supply of block towers in your sleep. You'll need to be adept at both if you want things to end your way, but Catherine's limited character interaction, shallow characters, and monotonous puzzles combine to form a unique experience that feels frustratingly limited in every respect.

In the game you'll play as Vincent, a weak, wishy-washy sort of guy who's always getting admonished or outright bossed around by his longtime girlfriend, Katherine. Just as he's lamenting that he's not sure he's ready to commit further in this relationship, a younger woman named Catherine stumbles into his life, and before long, he's cheating on his girlfriend with Catherine, who, by comparison, seems completely carefree and indifferent about, well, everything. Being faced with a choice between carefree youth and the increasing responsibilities of adulthood only intensifies as the story proceeds. Before long, things get decidedly supernatural as rumors start of nightmares that are killing traitorous men in their sleep and, sure enough, cheating Vincent finds himself in a nightly fight for survival against endless block-filled towers and his own worst fears.

The interactive parts of Catherine are broken into two separate chunks. When awake, you'll watch a lot of cutscenes and hear a lot of dialogue, but you'll eventually find yourself turned loose in a bar, where your friends gather at the end of every night. In the bar you can walk around and talk to the various patrons, many of whom are also enduring the same nightly ordeals that you are, but no one can really remember their dreams all that clearly. Most of the dialogue has you sitting and listening to their stories, but you'll occasionally get to make a dialogue choice that might just give them the encouragement they need to survive the night's trials. You'll also receive text messages from the two ladies in your life, and how you respond to them--or, in fact, if you respond to them--helps determine how the story unfolds by swinging an alignment meter one way or the other. Generally speaking, it'll shift to the blue side if you're choosing the responsible options that Katherine might agree with or red if your decisions are more in line with something that free-wheeling Catherine might do. The interactions feel incredibly limited, and there isn't that much to do in the bar before heading home and starting the next action stage unless you're interested in playing a retro-styled arcade version of the block puzzles that make up the rest to the game or working over the jukebox, which slowly gives you access to Catherine's soundtrack, as well as select cuts from Persona 4 and other Atlus releases.

Catherine's just kind of annoying.

At night, the action begins, as Vincent finds himself surrounded by sheep at the foot of a large tower of blocks. You can push or pull the blocks around, and the goal is to quickly climb the tower. The game starts out slowly to show you the basic logic behind the blocks' properties. For example, blocks will attach at diagonal edges, so you don't always need to have a block directly underneath another block for support. Once you've got the basics, later levels start introducing special blocks, like ones that crumble when you step on them, or trampoline-style blocks that let you jump up and grab onto ledges you wouldn't be able to reach otherwise, or ice blocks that cause you (and the blocks you're pushing) to slip and keep moving. Once you get the logic behind how the blocks move and start to see solutions in the puzzles instead of just a mountain of blocks, it isn't impossibly difficult. Unfortunately, that moment didn't happen for me until I was most of the way through the game. But the difficulty of the individual puzzles isn't what brings Catherine down. It's their repetitive nature. It feels like there are tons of levels in the game, and they're all roughly the same. The special blocks change things up a bit, and you'll have to climb towers while running away from a large boss-style monster during the last puzzle of every night, but the act of pulling and pushing blocks around to form staircases and create paths doesn't hold up for the entire game, and by night three or four (which is a little before the game's halfway point), I found myself not wanting to play anymore.

The big issues with Catherine are that the gameplay of block puzzles gets old fast and the way the characters develop in the story isn't engaging enough to pick up the slack. Despite being able to make choices that sway the alignment meter and alter the outcome of the story, Vincent's behavior usually doesn't line up with the choices you've made. Even if you're very clearly steering him in one direction, the story beats essentially force him to remain mostly indecisive right up until the final set of challenges. In my case, this resulted in a Vincent who was constantly saying that he was looking to remain true to Katherine, yet kept having nervous breakdowns about Catherine and her feelings. Considering how pushy and psycho Catherine acts, it's hard to imagine anyone feeling the need to "let her down gently." With the characters written that way, it's hard to care about the story very much, especially when you consider that most of your choices are made in-between action stages, where a confessional booth acts as some sort of personality test, asking this-or-that questions about how you'd act in specific situations and so on. It feels like the decisions you're making are almost completely detached from the story itself.

Big bosses will try to trip you up as you climb the tower.

That said, the story sequences themselves are pretty well-made. There are a handful of fully animated sequences, but even the in-engine stuff is sharp, colorful, and full of personality. Some of the characters you'll meet around the bar have interesting side stories that are told both in and out of the dream world, and the voice cast is solid enough to make those stories work. It's a shame that most of the game's strongest points are practically crammed into the margins to make room for more block pushing.

It's certainly not awful, but too many aspects of Catherine felt like they were actively trying to push me away. More variety in the gameplay would have helped, as would more meaningful interactions with the game's cast. As it stands, the coolest thing about Catherine is that there really isn't anything else out there like it. If that's enough for you, you'll probably have a better time with the game than I did.

Jeff Gerstmann on Google+
621 Comments
Edited by wolf_blitzer85

I like this game.

That is all.

Edit: Okay one more thing, if you were (or are) super duper excited for this game and love it, this review is not for you.

Posted by mnzy
@oysteinBrenne said:
stick to your dumb shooters jeff and let someone more competent review the other games   1up 10/10 GE 9.5/10 CCC 9.2  Eurogamer 9/10  Joystiq 9/10The Escapist 9/10IGN  9/10Gamespot 8.5/10  Games Radar 8/10 GamePro 8/10Official Xbox Magazine 8/10  Game Informer 7/10 (its not so much a review than a rant about how the game is too hard) Jeff HURP A DURP ITS A PUZZEL GAME AND I FUCKING HATE ANIME AS I HAVE SAID MANY TIME SO WHY THE FUCK AM I REVIEWING THIS? HURP A DURP 2/5 fucking 2/5 you gave fucking cod more than this game you make me sick 
Chill dude, he didn't rape your sister.
 
Just your favourite game.
Online
Posted by Animasta

a 2 though? this game is as good as DNF? although instead of giving this a 3, might as well gave that a 1 huh? :P

still, I love it even if it is a little hard, but it was clear from the start that this wasn't Jeff's type of game so I dunno why he wanted to review it

Posted by Nocall

lulz @ the hate in here. heaven forbid a game you're interested in receive a poor score.

Posted by oysteinBrenne
@toadstule said:
Everyone hating on Jeff needs to cool down a bit. As Jeff stated in the review, Catherine is unlike any other game in the market right now. As a result, some people ended up loving this game and some didn't. Unfortunately, Jeff didn't like it as much as other reviewers but he made a lot of good points that support his opinion. It's at least nice to see developers take a risk with the games they make instead of pushing out carbon copies of other games.
Some didnt? everyone other review have given this game a 8-10 hes the only one that has made a negative review 
Posted by PeasForFees
@Ygg said:
@zameer said:

:( Was kinda expecting a 3 star review given what you said on the podcast. Guess I'll wait for this to go on sale then.

Interestingly, KVO gave an 8.5 for this game so I'm pretty sure it should appeal to some people.

The game's great and getting damn good scores everywhere else including user reviews.   I'll just ignore this review as I do most these days.
Or realise how Giant Bomb Reviews are intended, to be taken with the reviewers taste in account. Other reviews are no more or less relevant than Jeff's, just because he didn't like the style of the game or anything else as much as you do or any other person did doesn't mean that the review is to be completely ignored, that's just stupid. We all have different tastes and viewpoints which affect our opinions. Jeff really doesn't need defending from you when you like a game which he doesn't like as much, take it as an informative piece on whether the game is for you or not. If the game interests you It shouldn't matter that someone else doesn't like it because you yourself like it. Just buy it and enjoy yourself. 
Posted by deanimator

I think it's becoming more and more clear that my taste in games is completely opposite of what the editors here like.

Posted by CptBedlam

@evildeadron said:

Some of you people really need to grow the fuck up and re prioritize your lives, Jeff's professional integrity is the reason why we have Giant Bomb in the first place.

Exactly.

Anyways, the comments on this review are gonna be great for the next couple of days. All the whiny fanboys of the game pouring in here... great entertainment.

Posted by Metal_Mills
@oysteinBrenne said:
stick to your dumb shooters jeff and let someone more competent review the other games   1up 10/10 GE 9.5/10 CCC 9.2  Eurogamer 9/10  Joystiq 9/10The Escapist 9/10IGN  9/10Gamespot 8.5/10  Games Radar 8/10 GamePro 8/10Official Xbox Magazine 8/10  Game Informer 7/10 (its not so much a review than a rant about how the game is too hard) Jeff HURP A DURP ITS A PUZZEL GAME AND I FUCKING HATE ANIME AS I HAVE SAID MANY TIME SO WHY THE FUCK AM I REVIEWING THIS? HURP A DURP 2/5 fucking 2/5 you gave fucking cod more than this game you make me sick 
Calm down you maniac. What are you? 13?
Posted by Korne
@ItBeStefYo said:
@Lucidlife: Did Jeff not do the Persona 4 ER? And who the hell likes those block pushing puzzles!?
I like block puzzles... Intelligent Qube is one of my favorite games. So people like me are out there. 
And it is well known that Jeff doesn't like Anime. I think he was able to enjoy Persona 4 more for the awesome mechanics rather than the style and storytelling. That is fine... we all have our likes and dislikes.
Posted by Adus

Bunch of babies in these comments. Stop flipping out because someone didn't like your video game and grow up.

Posted by Dany

@oysteinBrenne said:

@toadstule said:
Everyone hating on Jeff needs to cool down a bit. As Jeff stated in the review, Catherine is unlike any other game in the market right now. As a result, some people ended up loving this game and some didn't. Unfortunately, Jeff didn't like it as much as other reviewers but he made a lot of good points that support his opinion. It's at least nice to see developers take a risk with the games they make instead of pushing out carbon copies of other games.
Some didnt? everyone other review have given this game a 8-10 hes the only one that has made a negative review

So what? Jeff didn't care for the game and explained clearly why he didn't like it.

Posted by mutha3
I think the ratio of people telling others to stop freaking out and the actual amount of people freaking out is, like, 5:1
Posted by Tennmuerti

While I personally frequently disagree with Jeffs review scores (not in this case since I haven't played the game myself) but goddamn the man can write.

Posted by Turambar
@TheSpartanDon said:

@oysteinBrenne said:

stick to your dumb shooters jeff and let someone more competent review the other games 1up 10/10 GE 9.5/10 CCC 9.2 Eurogamer 9/10 Joystiq 9/10The Escapist 9/10IGN 9/10Gamespot 8.5/10 Games Radar 8/10 GamePro 8/10Official Xbox Magazine 8/10 Game Informer 7/10 (its not so much a review than a rant about how the game is too hard) Jeff HURP A DURP ITS A PUZZEL GAME AND I FUCKING HATE ANIME AS I HAVE SAID MANY TIME SO WHY THE FUCK AM I REVIEWING THIS? HURP A DURP 2/5 fucking 2/5 you gave fucking cod more than this game you make me sick

I like Call of Duty and don't like the look of Catherine...

Are you going to attack me for having an opinion?

That's right.  Your opinion is wrong and you're a bad person for having it D:!!!
 
More on topic, the only real issues I take with Jeff's review are that his criticism of the characters not being well written are supported by evidence that read more like he simply didn't like them, not because of any actual fault to their quality and ends up giving that criticism more supposed objectivity than there actually is.  For example,  Vincent's wishy washy attitude is quite on purpose.  
 
That and the whole "decision making being detached from the story" critique always rings hollow from anyone that has praised such mechanics in ME2 and DA.
 
Other than that, an expected review given the comments on the podcast.
Posted by PrivateIronTFU

This is just embarrassing. Raging nerds need to calm the fuck down.

Posted by Korne
@yakov456 said:

Ugh why did this get such a low score. Now I have to see everyone talk even more about this game, enough already. Have not looked at the comments yet but I can already imagine what they say. Something like "Fuck you Jeff".

Fuck you Jeff... lol
Posted by ImperiousRix
@wolf_blitzer85 said:

I like this game.

That is all.

Edit: Okay one more thing, if you were (or are) super duper excited for this game and love it, this review is not for you.

I agree with this man.
Posted by Deathpooky

Disappointing. But since seeing the block puzzle portions I've been turned off by the game, and hearing they dominate to an unhealthy degree just doesn't sound good. The non-story sections of Persona may have been somewhat repetitive, but it was the kind of repetitive that I like.

I was interested in the fact that they were trying for a more adult story than Persona's high school settings and I'm intrigued enough to buy it when it goes cheap, but otherwise, here's waiting for Persona 5.

Edited by kerse

I'm about halfway through, but this games a solid 3 at least for me, the puzzles don't last long enough for them to become all that monotonous for me. I'm playing on normal and its not very hard, but the checkpointing does make it frustrating, especially when there's only 1 halfway through the level and you're running through the whole thing every time.

I'm still really enjoying it though its been a long time since I've played a weird japanese game like this. This is definitely a love it or hate it game. I'd recommend playing the demo before buying it.

Posted by Origina1Penguin

The five star system shows the reviewer's level of recommendation. It's not a grade.

Posted by Catolf
@vidiot said:
@Catolf said:
@vidiot said:
You know, it is possible to not agree with Jeff, but still appreciate a different opinion.
BOOM!  Also.. GB think's Catherine is as good as DNF.. lolololol~  BOOM!
You just hurt my head: Say you're sorry.
pfft...never... BOOM
Posted by bybeach

I wish I could allow myself to play this game. Having said that, I've got sympathy to where Jeff is coming from. Without naming it, right now I am playing a story intensive game that not always, but sometimes strikes me it just should have been all story. I've gotten through it okay, except for one section that was so fucking repetitive for me because I wasn't getting it, I turned the sound off. And finally got it. The last thing I would want to do is repeat that with block puzzles. This review reads very well. Numerically it is 2 stars, and like Fear3, another game I swung around to the reviewer's side by my own experience, I just gut feel it is missing a star. I'm coming to the conclusion I highly respect and prefer reading the GB's written reviews, just just do not know what to make of the numerical. All I can say is well and concisely written, Jeff.

Posted by Korne
@oysteinBrenne said:
@toadstule said:
Everyone hating on Jeff needs to cool down a bit. As Jeff stated in the review, Catherine is unlike any other game in the market right now. As a result, some people ended up loving this game and some didn't. Unfortunately, Jeff didn't like it as much as other reviewers but he made a lot of good points that support his opinion. It's at least nice to see developers take a risk with the games they make instead of pushing out carbon copies of other games.
Some didnt? everyone other review have given this game a 8-10 hes the only one that has made a negative review 
To be fair, a lot of reviewers are on the 7-10 scale... Giantbomb uses the entire 0-10 (but cut in half).
Posted by Jeffsekai

loooool

Posted by Catolf
@Shaanyboi said:
@Catolf said:
@vidiot said:
You know, it is possible to not agree with Jeff, but still appreciate a different opinion.
BOOM!  Also.. GB think's Catherine is as good as DNF.. lolololol~  BOOM!
Uhh...No, that's not how a 5-star review works....
if you say so.. if you say so. /troll
Edited by Taiyo

@Lucidlife said:

Why did Jeff review this game? It's clear this isn't his "type" of game. I'm not sure what "type" of game he enjoys anymore because he is so damn negative towards pretty much every game released that isn't Street Fighter or MK. So I have to question why they would want the most jaded reviewer on the site to review a game that clearly wouldn't appeal to him from the start. It's unfair to those people who are stupid enough to base their purchases off what reviewers have to say and it's also unfair to the developers of the game.

What? Are there other games that are the same "type" as Catherine that Jeff hasn't enjoyed? As far as genres go, Catherine is pretty insular. Jeff liked the adventure aspects of the Persona games and also likes puzzle games. Why don't you think this is "Jeff's type of game"? You seem to be having a chicken-and-egg sort of dilemma. You can't wait for a reviewer to give a negative review, AND THEN criticize him reviewing a game that "isn't his type."

@Lucidlife said:

@DaBuddaDa said:

I was going to buy this game, but now after reading Jeff's review, I am no longer going to make the purchase.

I find that incredibly sad. It's clear something about the game appealed to you. The same things may not appeal to Jeff which, in a nutshell, is why the very concept of reviewing games is just bad. No two people are the same and I quickly found that listening to these jaded reviewers was causing me to miss out on some great games. So now I just read the reviews for entertainment and never to sway my purchasing decisions.

You do realize the main purpose of game reviews, right? It's also clear that something about the game appealed to Jeff at one point. If there were no game reviews, we'd all buy tons of shitty games. Sure, you might miss out on a few good ones if you happen to read a few bad reviews, but the pros of game reviews still outweigh the cons when it comes to buying advice. Also, in this day and age, one can read many game reviews from multiple sources for different opinions. Presumably, DaBuddaDa knows this, and also knows that some other people really enjoyed Catherine. Given this, he obviously values Jeff's opinion, and this review was able to persuade him against a purchase. You disagree with this, and think Jeff is jaded. This is why you will buy the game, and DaBuddaDa won't. No need to pussyfoot around every bad game and negative opinion. Best case, we'd all get to play every game. But we don't have the time or money.

@DaBuddaDa said:

So what you're saying is Catherine is worse than Fable III?

Jeff didn't review Fable III. Brad did.

@oysteinBrenne said:

Thanks jeff for fucking over the metacritic. score hopefully they see how fucking terrible review this is and dont add it

LOL Metacritic. What was it that you found so terrible about the review? Tell us.

You realize the absurdity of what you're saying? Unless you work for Atlus, you should be grateful that Jeff seems to have expressed his true opinion. In doing so, he has showed his dedication towards you, the customer, by not caving to the pressures of inflating a review score to maintain good relations with publishers/developers. And if you work for Atlus, I would hold you to a higher standard than some nobody on the Internet.

@oysteinBrenne said:

WOW this review is fucking terrible sorry jeffs this is the worst review you have ever done
Would you care to explain why you feel the review is so terrible? That's what people usually do when they want their opinions to be taken seriously. The fact that you give an opinion without backing it up tells me that you have no business critiquing someone else's.

Posted by steelknight2000

Once I heard this game was just a bunch of block puzzles it was dead to me.

Posted by MisterMouse

yeah figured as much of Catherine,  could tell that the puzzles would get boring super fast.

Posted by SamFo

@oysteinBrenne:A review is an opinion? Just because you don't agree with it doesn't mean it's bad. I feel like this happens all the time. Just because Jeff doesn't like it, doesn't mean you have to justify the fact that you do?

There is nothing wrong with Jeff's review.

Posted by benjaebe
@Origina1Penguin said:

The five star system shows the reviewer's level of recommendation. It's not a grade.

I definitely agree. I still feel as though the way they explain the star system would thoroughly put this in the 3 star camp: 
 " The halfway point. An inherent appreciation of this game's specific gameplay style, characters, subject matter, and so on may play as big a role in your enjoyment as the actual quality of the game." 
 
It's my opinion that the games negatives hardly outweigh it's positives.
Posted by mutha3
@Korne said:
@ItBeStefYo said:
@Lucidlife: Did Jeff not do the Persona 4 ER? And who the hell likes those block pushing puzzles!?
I like block puzzles... Intelligent Qube is one of my favorite games. So people like me are out there. And it is well known that Jeff doesn't like Anime. I think he was able to enjoy Persona 4 more for the awesome mechanics rather than the style and storytelling. That is fine... we all have our likes and dislikes.
Jeff has made it abundantly clear, multiple times that the gameplay in Persona 4 was his least favorite element of the package. Also:

 That said, the story sequences themselves are pretty well-made. There are a handful of fully animated sequences, but even the in-engine stuff is sharp, colorful, and full of personality. Some of the characters you'll meet around the bar have interesting side stories that are told both in and out of the dream world, and the voice cast is solid enough to make those stories work.
 


Here is him praising Catherine's style. The same way he did with P4.
Posted by DevWil

sounded like a 2/5 from your comments on the bombcast.

Posted by gla55jAw

I'm halfway though and am loving the game and characters so far. I guess I'll have to finish it and read Jeff's review again.

Posted by Catolf
@Origina1Penguin said:

The five star system shows the reviewer's level of recommendation. It's not a grade.

Are you sure about that? It's a grade on how you as the person reviewing feels the game is more or less to you. Either way, a two is a two.. to jeff this is a two, to me i could go four. Maybe three and a quarter. I don't hate him for it, he's got an opinion, i got mine, as you have yours.
Posted by MrQuotes

I'm digging the game, but I get the grievances Jeff has, still I think 2 is kinda harsh, but when you score out of 5 instead of 10, there is a bit of hyperbole in the score. I too would much rather deal with the story elements than all the block pushing, which is fun, but gets hella frustrating, and sometimes tedious. Still not for nothing, this game was merely a side project the Persona team was doing as they were finishing P4, I really love the character interaction interface and hope they use it again in another game(trying the obvious hope and anticipation of Persona 5) 

Posted by Levio

They should have replaced the block puzzles with Mario Party maps. Boom, one million copies sold on day 1.

Posted by imsh_pl

Good review.
 
I haven't played the game but from what I've seen (and read) the puzzles would bore me after one hour of play. I do enjoy games focused on the story aspect, however, so I might pick this up later if it goes on sale or something.

Posted by scarace360
@Cyrisaurus said:
Anime games are for jerks.
ima hit you with a car.
Posted by nickux

It's so funny how games and all media in general can hit people differently. I'm five hours into Catherine and loving it so far. I really enjoy the block puzzles, digging the story, and interacting in the bar. I can see where the storytelling has its faults (Vincent's actions never reflect how he feels) but I'm still having a great time.

Posted by GioVANNI
@scarace360 said:
@Cyrisaurus said:
Anime games are for jerks.
ima hit you with a car.
Because you know it's true.
Posted by mythus

I really loved the game, up to the final boss in what appears to be the true ending, and that sequence into this ending was simply awesome. The block puzzles are fun and challenging. The characters were great, but it would of been awesome if the world was expanded into a persona style instead of being restricted in the bar. This was a good promising hint of whats to come for persona 5.

Posted by Catolf
@scarace360 said:
@Cyrisaurus said:
Anime games are for jerks.
ima hit you with a car.
BOOM...
 
no but seriously stop that jerks thing, your not cute nor funny.
Posted by GioVANNI
@Taiyo: You are awesome.
Posted by aagaard
@oysteinBrenne said:
stick to your dumb shooters jeff and let someone more competent review the other games   1up 10/10 GE 9.5/10 CCC 9.2  Eurogamer 9/10  Joystiq 9/10The Escapist 9/10IGN  9/10Gamespot 8.5/10  Games Radar 8/10 GamePro 8/10Official Xbox Magazine 8/10  Game Informer 7/10 (its not so much a review than a rant about how the game is too hard) Jeff HURP A DURP ITS A PUZZEL GAME AND I FUCKING HATE ANIME AS I HAVE SAID MANY TIME SO WHY THE FUCK AM I REVIEWING THIS? HURP A DURP 2/5 fucking 2/5 you gave fucking cod more than this game you make me sick 
Hahaha. There sure are a lot of surprisingly angry people here.
Posted by GioVANNI
@Catolf said:
@scarace360 said:
@Cyrisaurus said:
Anime games are for jerks.
ima hit you with a car.
BOOM...  no but seriously stop that jerks thing, your not cute nor funny.
I thought it kind of funny.
Posted by Catolf
@aagaard said:
@oysteinBrenne said:
stick to your dumb shooters jeff and let someone more competent review the other games   1up 10/10 GE 9.5/10 CCC 9.2  Eurogamer 9/10  Joystiq 9/10The Escapist 9/10IGN  9/10Gamespot 8.5/10  Games Radar 8/10 GamePro 8/10Official Xbox Magazine 8/10  Game Informer 7/10 (its not so much a review than a rant about how the game is too hard) Jeff HURP A DURP ITS A PUZZEL GAME AND I FUCKING HATE ANIME AS I HAVE SAID MANY TIME SO WHY THE FUCK AM I REVIEWING THIS? HURP A DURP 2/5 fucking 2/5 you gave fucking cod more than this game you make me sick 
Hahaha. There sure are a lot of surprisingly angry people here.
actually one angry person who is being irrational. Just one.
Posted by Nekroskop

EDGE

Posted by hagridore

Was hoping I'd be able to steer Vincent down the right path. Don't really like playing jerks in video games.

Edited by Sergio

@oysteinBrenne said:

Thanks jeff for fucking over the metacritic. score hopefully they see how fucking terrible review this is and dont add it

It's one person's opinion. Jeff's opinion isn't gospel; the be-all and end-all review to convince someone to purchase a game. One needs to take into account the person's track record of what games they enjoy.

Honestly, as soon as I knew Jeff would be reviewing this game, I knew I wouldn't be using Giant Bomb's review of it to base any purchasing decisions. There are a lot of other reviewers whose tastes are more aligned with mine with this style of game and if they didn't like it, I'd stay away. Many of them liked it. That doesn't make Jeff wrong to not like it, it only makes him an unreliable source for me (he may be more reliable for someone else).