The Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken wiki last edited by DarthOrange on 02/21/13 08:47PM View full history


Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken expands upon browser-based game Rocketbirds: Revolution! and features four new levels, cut scenes, weapons and a brand new co-op campaign. Set in Albatropolis, a land full of birds taken over by a totalitarian penguin regime, you play as Hardboiled Chicken and must assassinate the evil penguin leader Putzki. His mission will unlock the secrets to his past and uncover the real enemies of Albatropolis. In single-player mode you play as Hardboiled Chicken and destroy your enemies with weapons you collect and unlock in each chapter which include a pistol, machine gun, shotgun and grenades. The game is a 2-D side scrolling platformer with gameplay that revolves around solving puzzles and killing enemies. There are also jetpack sections in which you must shoot other enemies out of the sky.

The 2 player local co-op campaign lets you play as a pair of Budgie commandos on a mission to save the general’s daughter. The same areas are visited as in the single player but they are all modified slightly and the puzzles involve both players working together. There are six playable characters and each one has a different weapon.

It is playable in stereoscopic 3-D. The original soundtrack was made by the Los Angeles based Sci-Fi rock band New World Revolution.

Vita Version

A port to the PlayStation Vita was released on the PlayStation Network on February 12, 2013. While it does not support cross buy, it is 20% off for those who own the PlayStation 3 version. It has been described by the founder of Ratloop Games as "the ultimate version." The Vita version includes new single player chapters, front and rear touch controls, online co-op, and a new "Hardboiled" difficulty. "Hardboiled" difficulty requires players to make it through the game with only a pistol and a large knife. Players can also tilt the Vita to cause the backgrounds to move up, down, left and right,

The co-op campaign on Vita is the same as the PS3 version and features 2 new characters that can be downloaded. One character is only available for those who played the demo on the PlayStation 3 and the other is for people who purchased the PlayStation 3 version.


Concept art for the sequel, Rocketbirds 2: Evolution, was available to view under the extras tab in the Vita version.

PC System Requirements


  • OS: Windows XP (with Service Pack 3), Windows Vista, Windows 7
  • Processor: Dual Core with 2.0 GHz
  • Memory: 1 GB RAM
  • Hard Disk Space: Min 501 MB free space
  • Video Card: 256 MB RAM graphics card (GF 7600 GT / Radeon X1950)
  • Direct X: DirectX 9.0c
  • Sound: DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card
  • Xbox 360 controller /gamepad (for co ops local)


  • OS: Windows Vista (SP1), Windows 7
  • Processor: Dual Core with 2.0 GHz
  • Memory: 2 GB RAM
  • Video Card: 512 MB graphics card (ATi HD 3870 / Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT)
  • Direct X: DirectX 9.0c
  • Sound: DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card
  • Xbox 360 controller /gamepad (for co ops local)

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.