How do you play chords quickly?

#1 Posted by N7Joker (13 posts) -

I just started learning guitar and I bought this game to help me out. I've really improved in the past few weeks on single note songs, but chord/combo songs are killing me! When I see the chord coming I instantly recognize it and can play it correctly but it takes me 2-3 seconds to get my fingers in the right spots. 2-3 seconds is way too long it seems like I need to do it in under 1 second to play the song properly. How do you guys move your fingers so fast? BTW the song I have been practicing is all the small things by blink-182.

#2 Posted by N7 (3590 posts) -

Cousin! It's good to see you again!

Maybe this can help? :)

#3 Posted by N7Joker (13 posts) -

Thanks N7. I'm following you now, It just seems right. lol

#4 Posted by owl_of_minerva (1455 posts) -

Only way to start doing it quickly is repetition. You'll find that with enough practice it takes little effort to shift from chord to chord (unless it's a particularly messed-up shape).

#5 Posted by kindgineer (2733 posts) -

@owl_of_minerva said:

Only way to start doing it quickly is repetition. You'll find that with enough practice it takes little effort to shift from chord to chord (unless it's a particularly messed-up shape).

#6 Posted by N7Joker (13 posts) -

@owl_of_minerva said:

Wow I've been playing the song a lot and I've almost got it mastered. It's like my fingers have a mind of their own and can remember the position and effortlessly go in to the proper position. This game is awesome!

#7 Posted by tydigame (85 posts) -