Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

RONIN

Game » consists of 4 releases. Released Jun 30, 2015

Players take out their enemies, one calculated move at a time, in this action tale of revenge.

Ronin is so close to being good that it hurts.

The_Nubster

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 1

I got this based off of the Quick Look, and I just started playing a few days ago. However, a lot of the problems Vinny mention are very real and don't seem to work themselves out. I usually like games because of their ambition, rather than their polish (Alpha Protocol, Enslaved, Papo & Yo), but something about Ronin just isn't clicking with me. I don't regret the money I spent on it because, when things work out, it feels amazing. It's just that the game is stopping those scenarios from playing out every single step of the way.

First off, there are enemies introduced almost immediately who can completely counter your plan of attack. The game encourages hopping on people and stunning them, but the very first new enemy introduced is one who will kill you for doing so. Before you've even got a chance to wrap your mind around the mechanics of the game, you're already being punished for attempting things.