So this may sound dumb but..

#1 Edited by Demoskinos (16437 posts) -

...being someone who never did get around to playing this back in the day I'm confused as to where to start. When you click new game it has two options what are the differences here? Any of you shadow warrior vets can help me out? @shagge

#2 Posted by JazGalaxy (1638 posts) -

If I'm seeing what you're looking at correctly from a video on youtube, one version represents the levels that were distributed as shareware adn the other represents the levels that were packaged with the full game.

Back in the day, Wolfenstein, Doom, etc., where distributed as shareware. The first mission was typically given away and the rest of the levels could be purchased.

#3 Posted by Demoskinos (16437 posts) -

@jazgalaxy: Oh, I get the share ware business but but both options start you at entirely different levels.

#4 Posted by ZeForgotten (10368 posts) -

First option should be just the normal game and the second option is like extra levels.

#5 Posted by JazGalaxy (1638 posts) -

Well, the first option is the shareware mission. The second option is the unlocked full game mission. Wolfenstein had like 8 or something. Doom had 3. Quake had 4. Etc.

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.