Should I Grind with Every Character?

#1 Posted by Blubba (527 posts) -

This is probably a dumb question. I don't play many turned-based RPGs.

My friend told me that I won't be able to use certain characters for certain bosses. Apparently, some characters will be missing for story purposes and some characters have weaknesses that make them useless against certain bosses. So I'm wondering if I need to grind with every character just so I have all of my bases covered for bosses? Obviously, if I absolutely have to use Junpei, he shouldn't be Level 17 for the rest of the game. I beat P4 and that was never really an issue because it had guarding, moves like White Wall and Blue Wall, and most social links removed the weaknesses.

This is my first time playing Persona 3. I've played Persona 4 and loved it to death. I've played a decent chunk of Persona 3 so far; recently, Fuuka became the new support person and Mitsuru joined my party. I'm liking the game, not as much as I liked 4, but still it's good. The social links are kinda shallow compared to 4 (My aunt died. Okay, see ya tomorrow!) and the combat is a little rough around the edges, but I'm having a good time.

Fuuka's voice acting is not very good...

#2 Posted by JasonR86 (9703 posts) -

I'm almost done and I have stable of five-six characters that are near where I am. Eventually you'll get to the point where characters won't come back with you to Tartarus or some characters will be tired while others aren't.

#3 Posted by Hailinel (24764 posts) -

Without spoiling anything, inlike Persona 4, there will be times when you will not have access to certain party members, so I would recommend cycling them a bit while exploring/grinding in Tartarus to keep your options open.

#4 Posted by Autumn_Thunder (80 posts) -