Am I playing Civ 4 wrong?

#1 Posted by spartica (75 posts) -

I just got Civ 4 and it seems kinda fun, but I find that I'm constantly ending turns and waiting a good portion of the time. Is this the type of game that takes a long time to learn how to properly play it? Can someone give some direction as to what types of paths I can take besides the usual amass an army? I'm having trouble understanding how to take different paths.

#2 Posted by Jams (2966 posts) -

Usually I just keep expanding and exploiting whatever resources the area you colonized has. I guess it's hard for me to explain since I'm not really good at those games either and haven't really played Civ 4 in a while. There's probably a youtube let's play out there that could help you.

#3 Posted by itspizza (445 posts) -

Expand early, it is much harder mid to late game to get land that might have the resources you want. Luxury resources are key as well, they add happiness to your empire, and can come in handy when trading with other empires. Having cities on a river or on the sea adds benefits to them as well

#4 Posted by Arabes (345 posts) -

It's a 4x game so it defintely takes a long time to understand. What difficulty are you playing it on? If you set it to easy then there is no challenge, the AI won't take the initiative and you will never have to react, you can just dictate the course of the game (I find this very boring).I would advise against playing on chieftain, try a prince short game with 4 or 5 ai on a small map and you'll get a better idea of what it's like to play (civ is most fun when you run the risk of loosing).

There are 4 paths to victory - science, domination, culture and wealth. Pick one and go for it.Domination - focus on building up armies and attacking other empires. Science, take more of a turtle approach, generate as much research as you can, the same for culture and money. Generally you'll play a mix of these tactics.

If you need guides go look at civ fanatic.