Just started Shattered Memories. Should I finish it?

#1 Posted by MattSchwabby (118 posts) -

Let me start off by saying that I have very little familiarity with the Silent Hill franchise. I never played the first Silent Hill and only played Silent Hills 2, 3, The Room and Origins for about two hours each. I have never finished a Silent Hill game. I always thought the Silent Hill games were interesting, but they just never drew me in enough to finish any of them. That said, I always loved the setting/atmosphere set by the series.

This week I started playing Shattered Memories on the Wii. I was really interested in starting this game due to the positive response it received critically. I was mostly drawn to the game by the adventure game comparisons many publications made.

Now that I have started the game, I am a bit torn. To give some perspective, I just finished the segment that takes place in the woods and am now at the beginning of the High School. I really really liked the opening of the game. I found the part that takes place in town extremely engrossing/creepy and all of the therapist segments so far have really drawn me in.

That being said, I really hated parts of the segment that takes place in the woods. I enjoyed the creepy atmosphere, but it was a bit irritating trying to figure out where I had to go due to how dark the area is. All of the terrain in the area just generally confused me and I came off of that sequence frustrated.