Why does my health keep going down?

#1 Posted by Geno (6477 posts) -

So yeah, I'm a noob at this game. I just finished the very first mission where you rescue Nimble, and now for some reason my health keeps going down. I see the radioactive sign at the edge of my screen (I have Stalker Complete 2009 installed), so obviously I'm suffering from radiation. But how do I get rid of it? 

#2 Edited by MrKlorox (11209 posts) -

In your inventory you will see your health armor and radiation levels. The Yellow is your radiation, which should decrease as you wait, but as I'm sure you've noticed so does your health. To cure radiation you can either take antirad medication (such as vodka early in the game) or continually use health kits/eat to out last the poisoning (depending on how severe). Many of the early quests reward you with vodka.

You must've walked through a patch of radiation unknowingly. Keep an ear out for your geiger click. If you're too poisoned (look at the icon: green is light, yellow medium, red heavy) you might need to revert to an earlier save. It's handy to keep a few save slots going at a time. Quick save with F5 often.

Since you're early in the game it shouldn't be too much of a bastard to start fresh should you have to.

#3 Posted by Mikl (157 posts) -

because the game hates you and no that's not a joke
#4 Posted by Geno (6477 posts) -

There's these weird blobs of distortions, which seem to be the radioactive patches. But they seem to come and go randomly, it's hard to avoid them, especially when sprinting. Should I just keep a supply of vodka and anti-rad on hand from now on? Or is there some sort of armor I can buy to prevent the rad? 

#5 Edited by MrKlorox (11209 posts) -
@Geno: Those are explosive anomalies (i forget what they're called -- check your PDA).